Tommy Simpson Memorial Race  (w110621-2e)
Tommy Simpson Memorial Race (w110621-2e)

RETFORD Wheeler Paul Austin was just outside the top 10 in Sunday’s Tom Simpson Memorial Road Race.

The local rider finished 11th in a bunch of cyclists, as Congleton CC’s Mike Harrison took first place at the Harworth circuit.

Despite the windy conditions there was a good turnout for the annual event, promoted by Dinnington Racing Club.


1st Mike Harrison (Congleton CC) 2:17:00; 2nd John Brown (Activ Cycles RT) @ 2sec; 3rd Paul Bethell (Team Elite) @ 4sec; 4th Andrew Beattie (Infinity Cycles); 5th Stuart Pryce (Nottingham Clarion); 6th Lee Tunnicliffe (Planet X); 7th Karl Denton (Yorkshire Velo); 8th Dave Furniss (Doncaster Wheelers); 9th Tony Grassby (Peak RC); 10th Mark Perry (Vicious Velo).