A dozen Aegir time trial riders battle it out for the Reg Booth handicap trophy, as veteran takes victory

A bright and breezy evening was in store for competitors in the latest Gainsborough Aegir time trial.

Twelve Aegir members raced for the Reg Booth handicap trophy, with a further six private trialists completing the 18-strong field.

It was veteran member Derek Sanderson who took home the trophy, after an improved effort around the 10 mile circuit.

At the front end of the field Julian Hesp continued his solid form taking the overall victory from Matt Hindmarsh.

Arran Watson produced a personal best and went close to taking the honours in the handicap category.

Andy lewin led home the six private trialists, all of whom completed in under 30 minutes.

Next week will conclude the club’s 10-mile time trial league, with the event starting at 6.30pm on Laughton Lane.

Results: 1st Julian Hesp 24:29, 2nd Matt Hindmarsh 25:23, 3rd Callum Lawson 26:11, 4th Liam Hindmarsh (juvenile) 26:17, 5th Steve Dobson 28:24, 6th Arran Watson 28:42 PB, 7th Trevor Halstead 29:48, 8th Andy Clarke and Sally Shaw (tandem) 29:50, 9th Derek Sanderson 30:27, 10th Ian Barley 30:46, 11th Lee Harland 33:24, 12th Ben Crookes (juvenile) 38:33.

Private trials: 1st Andy Lewin 24:26, 2nd Clare Ella 26:42, 3rd Guy Martin 27:25, 4th Ian Ferraby 28:59, 5th Sam Crookes 29:22, 6th Mike Overton 29:35.

On Sunday the club’s leisure ride will be to The Best Coffee Shop and Diner at Retford.

Riders should meet at Roseway, Gainsborough at 9.50am for the short ride.

On Wednesday 14th September the club’s final 10-mile time trial takes place with the first rider off at 6.30pm from Laughton Lane.

The club’s website is www.community.lincolnshire.gov.uk/gainsboroughaegircycling

New riders are welcome.

Contact Trevor Halstead on 01427 617752,