Video: Bassetlaw Council’s Achievers Awards

Achievers from across Bassetlaw gathered at Worksop Town Hall to hear inspirational stories and celebrate their good deeds.

Bassetlaw Council chairman Sybil Fielding presented certificates to winners of all ages, to recognise their individual achievements and contributions.

The Bassetlaw District Council Achievers' Awards. Chairman of Bassetlaw District Council Councillor Sybil Fielding presents the awards G131009-1k

The Bassetlaw District Council Achievers' Awards. Chairman of Bassetlaw District Council Councillor Sybil Fielding presents the awards G131009-1k

She said: “The council is hosting this event in recognition of your contributions to our community.”

“There are those of you whose occupations have helped in the success of the district; those of you whose voluntary work does so much to enhance the lives of others; those who are achievers in the field of sport; and those of you whose individual acts of courage or bravery are a credit to us all.”

Achievers Awards were handed out to rapturous applause as the room heard remarkable stories of heroic actions, selfless volunteering, fundraising and outstanding talent.

Many of the stories have appeared in the pages of the Guardian. They included Jessica McGlone, who has undergone numerous operations but does not let her disability stop her doing anything.

The nine-year-old and her family, from Worksop, have raised nearly £5,000 in the past few years for the limb reconstruction unit at Sheffield Children’s Hospital, where Jessica has been treated.

Ken Beard, 91, who has given 75 years to the Salvation Army Band in Worksop, was also given an award.

Those who are involved in organisations, charities and businesses such as Bassetlaw Hospice, Army Cadets and Lloyds Chemist Group were all recognised with awards.

Linda Foy and Rachael Stevens, from St John’s Church of England Primary, were put forward for an award by the whole school.

The pair co-ordinated a school fundraising plan for the Whizz-kidz, and both ran the London Marathon. Their motivation and enthusiasm helped to raise £2,100 for the charity.

The full list of award winners

Craig Anderson - in recognition of volunteer work in the Prospect community.

Ken Beard - in recognition of 75 years’ service with the Salvation Army Band.

Zoe Brain - in recognition of support given to son Matthew.

John Chamberlain - in recognition of volunteer work at the Ann Daniels Centre in Carlton.

Judith Ann Cobb - in recognition of fundraising done in aid of the local First Response Team.

Max Davies - in recognition of being a delightful pupil at Gateford Park Primary and overcoming adversity.

Linda Foy and Rachael Stevens - helped to co-ordinate a school fundraising plan at St John’s Church of England Primary for the Whizz-kidz charity.

Friends of Woodlands and Coachwood Green - for enthusiasm and commitment for caring for woodlands and grassed areas surrounding Shireoaks Marina.

Andrew Frisby - in recognition of tireless work to establish a junior football team in Nether Langwith.

Samantha Keys - in recognition of volunteer work at Hallcroft Infant School.

Jessica McGlone - in recognition of fundraising efforts for the Sheffield Children’s Hospital.

Rex Madin - in recognition of his tireless work for Beckingham.

Florence Mallett - for helping to raise thousands of pounds for Walkeringham Village Hall.

Julie Marsden - for excellent customer service whilst working for Lloyds Chemist Group.

Luke Matthews - for bravery when involved in a serious road accident.

Seamus Morrison - for fantastic achievements in the World Dwarf Games.

Emma Pearson and Lisa Bramley - for the hard work and commitment in setting up the charity JOEL - The Complete Package.

Georgia Romeo - for fundraising efforts on behalf of her late friend Callum.

Janet and Stephen Sargent - for dedication and hard work promoting archery in Bassetlaw.

Jonathan Stoner - in recognition of achievements with the Army Cadets in Bassetlaw.

Jean Watts - for fundraising efforts of behalf of Bassetlaw Hospice for the past 18 years.