The DN21 awards are returning after a successful first year

Alll the winners from the DN21 Awards
Alll the winners from the DN21 Awards

Gainsborough Trinity Football Club and Marshall’s Yard have teamed up once again to stage the popular business awards focused on rewarding the best in business right in the heart of Gainsborough.

The DN21 Awards, now in their second year, have been organised to recognise some of the fantastic companies in the town, delivering great products and service in retail and other business sectors in the DN21 postcode area.

The awards are free to enter and businesses can either put themselves forward or nominate a business or individual by completing a simple short form.

Entries will open on Thursday, March 31, and the closing date is Wednesday, May 4, with the winners announced in a glittering ceremony held once again at the Blues Club on Thursday, June 2.

Centre Manager for Marshall’s Yard, Alison Hall, said: “We had a fantastic response from businesses for last years’ awards and had a really enjoyable night.

“The DN21 awards are all about keeping things local from rewarding businesses with high turnover and employment numbers to sole traders offering something niche in their market.

“Most of all it’s about celebrating the overall offer Gainsborough has and a chance to come together for a great evening.”

Chairman of Gainsborough Trinity Football, Richard Kane, said: “The Football Club has worked hard to integrate in to the town and become an integral part of the local community.

“By working with businesses and other organisations the town is improving and with the ‘in it together’ attitude Gainsborough is becoming a place that Trinity fans can be truly proud of.”

Sponsors include EDF Energy, HSBC, WCRS, West Lindsey District Council, Pygott and Crone, MMC as well as Marshall’s Yard’s own tenants Wright Vigar and Martin and Co plus the longest established independent retailer in the town, Horsley’s.

BBC Radio Lincolnshire’s presenters Scott and Carla have once again agreed to host the night and the shortlisted applicants will be judged by independent experts via a range of mystery shopper exercises and interviews.

Entry forms and more details about the awards, criteria and event can be found on our website

Last year was the first ever DN21 awards and winners included Stanley Hunt Jeweller’s, Emmalooos, Browns Department Store, Wilko’s, Barnes Jeweller’s, RH Smith and Sons (Smiffy’s), Barron Bou, New Look, Williamson’s Farm and Therapy Gold Sports Injury.