How will you be voting?

THE deadline is nearing for the elections of the first ever Police and Crime Commissioner for Notts.

Voters from across Bassetlaw will head to the polls on Thursday 15th November to choose the candidate they think should be elected to oversee how Notts Police is run.

Candidates standing in Notts this year are ex-Sherwood MP Paddy Tipping, who is standing for the Labour Party, and Newark and Sherwood Conservative councillor Tony Roberts.

There are also two Independent candidates - retired GP and former police surgeon Dr Raj Chandran and ex-policeman Malcolm Spencer, who served with Notts Police for 30 years.

Four candidates have been selected to fight for the role of Police Crime Commissioner in Derbyshire - Alan Charles (Labour), Simon Spencer (Conservative), David Gale (UKIP) and Rod Hutton (Independent).

The role of Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC) replaces that of the existing Police Authority and means that one person will be responsible for holding the Chief Constable and police force to account on the public’s behalf.

They will also set the priorities for the police force within their area, respond to the needs and demands of communities and ensure that local and national priorities are suitably funded by setting a budget and the local performance of the force.

You need to be on the Electoral Register in order to vote in the PCC elections on Thursday 15th November.

Residents across Bassetlaw should have received postal votes through the post along with instructions on how to vote.

To find out more information on individual candidates in your area and see full election statements, visit choosemypcc

Or you can call 0800 1070708 to order printed information about your candidates.